Sunday, 25 September 2011

Facebook will be charging? ..the real score..

Got this message from your FB friends?

"FACEBOOK JUST RELEASED THEIR PRICE GRID FOR MEMBERSHIP. $9.99 PER MONTH FOR GOLD MEMBER SERVICES, $6.99 PER MONTH FOR SILVER MEMBER SERVICES, $3.99 PER MONTH FOR BRONZE MEMBER SERVICES, FREE IF YOU COPY AND PASTE THIS MESSAGE BEFORE MIDNIGHT TONIGHT. WHEN YOU SIGN ON TOMORROW MORNING YOU WILL BE PROMPTED FOR PAYMENT INFO... IT IS OFFICIAL IT WAS EVEN ON THE NEWS. FACEBOOK WILL START CHARGING DUE TO THE NEW PROFILE CHANGES. IF YOU COPY THIS ON YOUR WALL YOUR ICON WILL TURN BLUE AND FACEBOOK WILL BE FREE FOR YOU. PLEASE PASS THIS MESSAGE ON IF NOT YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED IF YOU DO NOT PAY"

This message or similar message about FB's soon to be a pay site has been in circulation way back 2007.
here

 IT IS A HOAX!



You might ask why they even make this warnings. Some even made groups within FB to spread the rumours. The origin of this message has a bad idea behind this warning. It is one of the following reasons or might be all of the following.

1. They want to spread malwares.

 As emails has been "taken over" by social networking sites, this is the best medium to spread viruses, trojans, spywares, rootkits, etc. etc, through page likes, using programs within Fb or even playing games.

I was a victim myself years back when I used an app that can make a fun video about christmas using photo's, It was fun but after installation I noticed that the app installed 2 more apps, something for th browser and an auto updater! And I can't put the updater into manual mode, meaning it is always updated when connected into the internet and that's not good. I found out that it changed the default home page, it added another apps that attached itself to the browser, that no matter how many times you change your default homepage and default search engine, it will always revert to the same hijacked state.

If you suspect that the apps you have downloaded and been using or the game that you have been playing is doing this, you need to remove it into your FB apps list. See tutorial on how to do this at http://prakticality.blogspot.com/2011/07/facebook-page-like-scam.html

If you have downloaded it and installed into your computer,  removing it from your FB apps list doesn't mean it is already uninstalled, You need to manually uninstall it using add remove programs from control panel. Sometimes there are stubborn apps. There's a free version of REVO uninstaller that can do the job. check it out  http://www.revouninstaller.com/revo_uninstaller_free_download.html

Have you ever experienced sending something to your FB friends without your knowledge? Then you have experienced malwares!

2. They want your email address and your friends email addresses as well.

The program writers do not get your email addresses for nothing. And you did not suspect them using your email for advertising or for spreading nasties. Other programmers do, that's one of the ways they earn money, by selling email addresses to spammers.

Botnets or "robot" computer networks controlled by spammers, pass malwares  into email addresses of an infected machine. And you might not suspect you are a part of a botnet. To check if your IP address has been flagged before as a botnet, see simple instructions at  http://prakticality.blogspot.com/2011/09/how-to-check-if-your-computer-is-part.html

3. Or simply they want to scare you away from facebook!

A piece of advise, it is not true FB will be charging soon or sometime, do not help spread the rumour , be careful on the apps you click like so you can stay away from any inconvenience.

No comments:

Post a Comment

ShareThis

Popular Posts